Life in Cannonborough/Elliotborough
Originally two separate boroughs but now considered one, Cannonborough and Elliotborough are the “Gateway to the Peninsula”. Currently experiencing a city and community backed neighborhood revitalization, the streets of this neighborhood have a great energy and youthfulness. Aiding in redevelopment is the Spring and Cannon corridor, home to a number of local restaurants, flower shops, bakeries, and other small boutiques. Both boroughs offer great opportunities for homebuyers, whether first time, looking to buy and then rent, or those interested in renovating a historic Charleston peninsular home.
Once two separate boroughs, Cannonborough is named for Daniel Cannon, a carpenter and mechanic who owned several lumber mills in the area. Elliotborough is named after Colonel Barnard Elliot, a Revolutionary War era planter and member of the Provincial Congress, who settled the area as early as 1785. An area of long standing historical importance, Elliotborough’s Line Street is named after a War of 1812 fortification, though its remnants are no longer visible. During the mid-nineteenth century, the boroughs became a base for Irish and German migrant workers and their families, most of whom were involved in rice and lumber mills, as well as shipping and rail. Many Jewish families lived in the area around this time, also, giving rise to the Beth Elohim synagogue on Coming Street. Currently the neighborhood is a mix of blue collar workers, students, older residents, and young families, all coexisting side by side throughout the joint borough.
Crossing over the Ashley River by car, one will enter the peninsula by way of Cannonborough/ Elliotborough. Bounded by Bee Street to the south and the Crosstown Expressway on the north, the joint borough features a mix of old and new buildings, including Charleston singles, multi-family homes, and condominiums. Some historic buildings of note include the James Sparrow House built in 1818, the Karapeles Manuscript Museum built in 1858, and the Charleston Fire Department Station 6 built in 1885.
The neighborhood is zoned for Charleston’s metro public school system. In addition, there are a number of independent elementary, middle, and high schools within a few miles. Notables include Ashley Hall, a K-12 college preparatory school for girls, and Porter Gaud, a K-12 college preparatory school for both girls and boys.
Because Cannonborough/Elliotborough is a public area of downtown Charleston, there is no HOA fee. Encompassing much of MUSC’s sprawling medical complex, the area offers many unique restaurants and shops, largely along the Spring and Cannon corridor. Another unique feature of Cannonborough/Elliotborough is the multiple corner stores in the area, offering convenience and a dynamic sense of community.